Christopher S. Prosser (b. 1978, San Francisco, CA) is an American composer and conductor of contemporary art music. He has composed works for orchestra, the theater, various chamber ensembles, choir, art songs, and solo pieces, all of which are primarily inspired by literature, the visual arts, and his Christian faith.

Prosser’s music has been presented across the US and internationally at festivals and conferences including SXSW, The UTSA New Music Festival, Tetractys, OCGM, LATEX, the Cortona Sessions for New Music, the Oregon Bach Festival Composer’s Symposium, Portland State University’s Theater Arts program, the Brevard Music Center, and NACUSA. His works have been performed by F-PLUS, Kraken Quartet, UTSA Concert Choir, The University of Texas New Music Ensemble, DuoSolo, the Riverside Chamber Symphony, the ITCH Ensemble, the Eugene Contemporary Chamber Ensemble, the Sospiro New Music Vocal Ensemble, the University of Oregon Women’s Choir, the Oregon Bach Festival’s American Creators Ensemble, the Louisiana Sinfonietta, and the LSU Men’s Choir, among others.

As a conductor and passionate advocate for new music, Prosser has conducted over 50 world premiere performances of works by young and emerging composers. He has held posts with the Sospiro New Music Vocal Ensemble and served as the Associate Conductor of the Riverside Chamber Symphony during their 2011-2012 season (Oregon). Currently, he serves as the Director of the UTSA New Music Ensemble, and is the Co-Founder and Executive Director of Tetractys, a new music concert series based in Austin, Texas.

Prosser received his DMA in music composition from the University of Texas at Austin. At UT, he was the recipient of the Robert Jeffry Womack Endowed Presidential Scholarship and the Kent Kennan Endowed Graduate Fellowship in Music Composition. He also holds degrees from The University of Oregon (M. Mus., 2010), Louisiana State University (B. Mus., 2007), and The College of Charleston (B. Sc., 2001). His mentors include composers Robert Kyr, David Crumb, Yevgeniy Sharlat, Dan Welcher, Russell Pinkston, Dinos Constantinides, Robert Livingston Aldridge, and Liduino Pitombeira. In 2017, he joined the faculty of the UTSA Music Department where he serves as a Lecturer of music theory and composition.